Senate Votes ‘Yes’ to Califf as Next FDA Commissioner

On Tuesday, February 23, the US Senate confirmed Robert Califf, MD to serve as the next FDA Commissioner. The position, held by Margaret Hamburg, MD for six years until she resigned in March 2015, was temporarily held by Stephen Ostroff, MD. Dr. Ostroff served as the Acting Commissioner for the ten month duration during which the final decision was being made regarding the appointment of the next Commissioner.

The Senate did not arrive at this decision without challenges; Califf, nominated by President Obama in September of last year, has received a lot of criticism. Ultimately, the objections were overcome although not unanimously; the final vote was 89-4.

For more information about Dr. Califf’s journey, view our previous FDA News articles: